top of page

Day 8 - Home Time!

This morning we enjoyed a bit more of a sleep in, which we needed after our snow adventures yesterday. Nice hot breakfast, before packing our bags for the final time and heading off to Questacon (Canberra’s equivalent of Scitech expect 5 stories high!).

Here we spent the next 5 hours exploring the 5 levels of interactive spaces. Each level had a room dedicated to certain areas of science. One of the most popular experiences was the “Free Fall”. We got to dress up in stylish orange overalls before ascending 2 flights of stairs. Here we hung on a monkey bar where we had to gather the courage to let go before freefalling about a metre onto a curved slide.

Some of us opted to experience what a simulated earthquake which was both exciting and scary. A few of the students got the opportunity to engage in a mind battle – moving a ball with their minds via a machine.

Throughout the day we enjoyed 2 shows on liquid nitrogen and rockets. The presenters were extremely funny and informative with many getting the opportunity to take part in assisting experiments.

Last destination for our trip was the Royal Australian Mint. We were taken for a journey back through Australia’s currency history from our Early explorers right through to today. We saw coins being made and even had the opportunity to buy our own coins made right in front of our eyes.

We’re both excited but sad to be heading home and we can’t wait to share our stories with you!

Enough from us teachers, we thought we’d end our final blog with the students sharing their favourite parts of the trip.

Lily C.: “The snow day was THE BEST DAY OF MY LIFE!”

Harrison: “My favourite part was the Blue Mountains walk and the vertical train back up the mountain”

Charlotte: “I loved Bathurst and the snow! My favourite part was receiving a toboggan full of snow to the face

by Miss Thompson”. (Go Miss T! – She is definitely not writing this, haha).

Montana: “Conquering my fears was a highlight”

Guy: “I quite enjoyed the snowball fights – I liked chucking snow at my friends”

Kiara: “Tobogganing was my favourite!”

Isabelle: “I loved building our snowman”

Logan: “Tobogganing was awesome! My favourite part was when I drifted and then I flipped”.

bottom of page